My heart goes out to Colorado

I woke up this morning and got ready for work.  One of my usual morning things is to check Facebook.  I went on and wished my brother a Happy Birthday!

That’s when I saw it; people sending their prayers to Colorado.  I hadn’t heard anything yet, the TV hadn’t been turned on.  Then I saw a news article that someone posted about the shooting in the movie theater.  My heart dropped.  I looked at the time and knew I had to finish getting ready to head to work.

Before I left, I read the wood plaque that hangs above our door, the Police Officer’s Prayer.  I usually read it before I leave, but today felt like one I needed a little extra protection.  Mr. Man said something to me as I was reading it.  I couldn’t stop repeating it.  Finally he asked what had my attention and if there was a bug on the wall.  All I could answer was, “No, just praying for a good day.”

It was talked about all day at work.  What happened?  How many people?  What happened to the shooter?  How would we respond?

There was also a recording of the 911 tape that was floating around the internet.  I hadn’t planned on listening to it, but I did.

My heart goes out to all of the victims, the families and friends.  It also goes out to all of the emergency responders and to the dispatchers.

Today is a day that will never be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

