A home to decorate

20131108-102635.jpg
I know it isn’t even Thanksgiving yet, but stick with me here.

I wait for the day that J and I have our own house that I can decorate for Christmas. Living with mom and dad is putting a slight damper on my decorating vibe, but we are so thankful to be there! I decorate our little corner a bit, but not nearly as much as I would love to! I suppose I should also mention, J is not the biggest fan of Christmas. He didn’t have the best childhood memories with the holidays, so I’m trying to change that and give him good memories of the holidays. Our first apartment together was decorated to the max with his permission. I know it was a little tough for him, but he is a trooper. Recently, he even picked Elf on his own for movie night when it was his pick, and was humming and singing Christmas carols after the movie. Big step! That never would have happened three years ago!.

Anywho, I’ve always had big dreams of decorating my house to the hilt for Christmas! I’m talking trees, lights, little house villages, stockings, garland, you name it! Think the scene in Elf where Buddy decorates Gimble’s for Santa to come.
20131108-104334.jpg
Source
And Pinterest has so many splendid ideas for decorating in hundreds of themes. Monochromatic, primitive, themed.
20131108-105224.jpg
Source
20131108-105849.jpg
Source

I also love the thought of a tree of only handmade ornaments and decorations. We went with that concept on the Christmas tree last year and it looked wonderful!
20131108-104958.jpg
I think it may have to make a repeat appearance.

How do you decorate your home for the holidays?

One thought on “A home to decorate

  1. Pingback: A journey of 3 | Change is my only constant

Leave a Reply

