Trying to get ahead.

Evening all!  I first want to say thank you to all veterans and those currently serving our country.  To those who have put their lives on the line for the protection of this country.  We owe them all we are, all we have.  I especially want to thank my grandpas (watching down from above), my uncles, my aunt, friends, and last but certainly not least – my fiance!

I decided to sit down and take a look at my notebook this weekend to see how I was doing with finances.  I could feel things were still a bit tight, but aren’t they always when you’re trying to pay off the mountain of debt?  I have been seriously tracking things in my notebook since mid-June.  It was hard to see once I opened to the different sections that I haven’t made as much progress as I had hoped.  The debt isn’t as low as I’d hoped, savings is about where it was – just divided a bit differently.  I have had some extra income coming in, but I don’t feel like it’s made enough difference.

Have you ever felt like you worked your tail off only to end up where you began?

I know it doesn’t help that it is the holiday season, and I took on a fitness challenge (x’s 2) while trying to pay off the debt, but that’s how life works, isn’t it?  You try, and plan, and work to get ahead to only feel like you’re treading water.  Granted, money has been moving a bit differently, and I have cut some of the major non-needed spenders out.

I thought I had already done this, but in re-evaluating, it seems not as much as I should.  It is time to buckle down.  Fill my Esty shop, post things on sale sites, no trips to the vending machines or cafeteria.  I’m not talking go to the extreme, I’m talking rework it a bit to move the flow of money, increase the income, decrease the debt.  Even more so than is currently being done.

At times like this, I enjoy reading personal finance blogs to see if any of them spark something in me, something I may not have tried yet.  But today, nothing. 

I also went to my budget spreadsheet and did a little figuring to find my debt-free date.  A bit sobering itself, right there.  If all goes as planned, I’m looking at February 2015.  That is, another 15 months being bogged down by the chains of debt.  I can’t wait for the day that those chains will be broken and gone!  When I can finally set the credit cards aside and not look at them or think about them for another debt payment.

2 thoughts on “Trying to get ahead.

  1. New here – found you through Girl Meets Debt.

    Just wanted to say that yes, it does suck to have a debt-free dates that’s still so far off, it’s FANTASTIC that you have this date figured out!! I look at my finances and cannot come up with any tangible date to be debt-free… it’s very much a “well, once this loan is paid off I can add more to pay off that, and if I get a raise on this date, blah blah blah….”
    You’re doing very well if you can see that “end goal”. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

