Debt Round-Up

It’s about that time to do a little debt review around here.  Recently, I had the honor of guest posting over at Girl Meets Debt as part of her Debt Confessions Series.  Hop on over to check it out if you didn’t get a chance!

Since 2013 is almost over, I wanted to revisit my goals for this year, along with progress on Operation Debt Butt-Kicking.

My goals for 2013 were (along with the progress on these goals as of 12/1/13):

1- Save $1,000 to my Emergency Fund – 45% saved

2- Pay off loan from M&D Bank (aka Mom & Dad)Done!

3- Have my debt card debt paid 50% down – 9% paid off

4- Earn $1500 in OT payDone!

5- Save $500 to our Wedding Fund – 71% saved

Unfortunately, I have not made as much progress on these as I had hoped, a few unexpected expenses came up throughout the last few months that have put a damper on things.  I have thankfully had quite a bit of extra income come in from a couple side hustles that I have going on at the moment.  My Etsy store has been picking up a bit with the holidays, along with my scarves that I have in a local shop.  Any money made from each of those venues have gone directly to Operation Debt Butt-Kicking, no looking back, do not stop at GO.  In November alone, I put an extra $600 over my planned amount from the side hustles.  Hopefully even more in December!

Along with the credit card debt, the student loan amounts have greatly decreased!  With the help of mom & dad, which I don’t know what I would do without their help!  We are working to get those paid off as soon as possible.  We are getting so close I can almost taste it!

After doing a little payment projection, I should be debt-free in February 2015!  That date seems so far away, but considering it is almost 2014, it really isn’t that far.  I would love to see all of my debt paid off before January 2015 though, so that will be my target date.  Debt-Free by December 31, 2014!

Leave a Reply

