13 Questions I’m asking myself before the end of 2013 {link-up}

As I was perusing my blog list of my frequent reads, I landed over at Miss Amanda’s blog.  She has a little link-up going, and naturally I had to join!  I have a thing for link-ups.  This link-up is a little recap and 13 questions to ask ourselves as we end the year 2013.

The Lady Okie Blog

1. What am I most proud of this year? I have two things that I am most proud of this year: a) sticking with my job search, and finding a job that fits me like a glove!  You really can be happy at a job and work with great people who treat you like family!  And b )making a plan and sticking to it to pay off all of my debt and become debt-free by December 2014.

2. How can I become a better ________? I know I am not a spouse just yet, but I am going to say spouse/wife.  I love J dearly, and want nothing more than to do my best to give him the best life and home full of happiness, love and laughter.  We often check in with each other to see how the relationship is going, and what we can do to make it even better.  I love that I am with someone who wants to make this work and last just as much as I do!

20131227-214108.jpg

3. Where do I need to allow myself grace?  In knowing that developing patience takes time.  I never was the most patient person in the world; growing up, my parents always said my slogan should be “God grant me patience, and I want it now.”  I have to give myself credit with how well I have done with some of the changes and troubles that have come, and know that it will be okay.

20131227-213315.jpg

4. Am I passionate about my career? I can honestly say yes!  At the beginning of the year…it would have been an “I want to be, but I am not.”  It is amazing the difference the right job and the right place can make on your outlook.

5. What did my finances look like? Oh, my finances were rough.  But they are definitely on the road up-hill.  After the realization that J and I could not afford to purchase a house this year and move out of my parents, that was a hard hit.  I finally buckled down, looked deep at my finances, and made a plan to get back to the black.  It is a struggle at times, but what will come from it will bring a sweet celebration!

6. How did I spend my free time? Lots of sewing and quilting, some painting, lots of time with my family and my lovie little niece.  I also spend a bit of time surfing around the blog world, and building relationships within the blogging community.

20131227-214000.jpg

7. What projects have I completed? Oh goodness, well I have completed quite a few quilting and sewing projects (Hanukkah and Christmas gifts, a quilt for my mentor before he moved away), J and I finally got our gallery wall up in our bedroom, and I have checked a few things off of my 30 Before Thirty list.

20131227-213737.jpg

8. In what ways can I restructure my time? You see, I’m a list girl.  I have lists of goals, things to make, projects to finish, etc. etc. etc.  One goal of mine for 2014 is to combine all of my “to do” lists into one main list – I even have a notebook set aside for it – and start checking things off.  Something else to add?  To the main list it goes.  I also plan to sit at the computer and mind waste less, you know – with Candy Crush, Facebook, Pinterest, watching TV, you get the gist.

9. When have I felt the most alive? While exploring something new, whether it is a new place, new activity, new food, or something new to J that I am sharing in the experience with him.  We always love going on adventures together, and I feel inspired and encouraged as we explore and strengthen our relationship together.

20131227-213411.jpg

10. How can I improve my relationships? Rather than just thinking and wondering how a friend is doing, make a phone call or send a message.  Also, work on bettering communication with those whom I live.  With the schedule and time of day that I work, there are times that I may go a few days without seeing or talking to those in my own house.  With that, communication suffers, misunderstandings happen, and it can be rough.

11. What lessons have I learned in 2013? Patience is something that we must always have.  You can never get away from budgeting.  When you want something bad enough, you will find a way, even when it seems utterly impossible.  And last, but most importantly – faith is key; in yourself, in others, and in God.

20131227-213449.jpg

12. What old habits would I like to release? As much as I hope this will release (though I really don’t think it totally will), procrastination.  Things always get done, but I stress myself out and wait until last-minute too many times.  Also, self-doubt and looking too far into the future.  I would like to live and focus more on the here and now.

13. What new habits would I like to cultivate? a) Scheduling weekly dates with J.  It is unfortunately too common right now for us to tell each other that we need more time together.  We have a date night at least once every other week right now, but I hope to change that to once a week in 2014.  b) a steady workout routine without making excuses.  A few good habits were made during my 30-day fitness challenges, time to continue with them!

What do you have to say about 2013?  Answer these 13 questions, then head on over to Amanda’s blog and link-up!
4 thoughts on “13 Questions I’m asking myself before the end of 2013 {link-up}

  1. What a fabulous post! So many things to comment on here. #1 makes me so happy! And it’s awesome.you have a plan in place to pay off debt in 2014. Good luck on all your goals. I know you can do it!

  2. Your year in review was great to read. I say a big CONGRATS for creating a budget and working to pay off your debt. I did that before I got married and it really is a good feeling when you get there. I used the Dave Ramsey ‘snow ball’ method and it really helped.

    I’m glad you said to be intentional about calling people or sending a message instead of just ‘thinking about it’. I’m so guilty of that and need to work on it.

    Thanks for linking up with us and for sharing about your year.

Leave a Reply

