Time to strengthen

20140110-194301.jpg

There has been a lot of talk lately between J and I of all that is to come this year for us together, and each individually. With all that happened in 2013, we have decided it is time for us to strengthen our bonds, both with each other and with God. This year will be a year where faith is needed more than ever.

I don’t really consider myself religious, I don’t read the bible every day, I don’t go to church every week (heck, we don’t even have a home church right now).  However, I do consider myself spiritual and of having very strong faith.  I believe each of us has a path, a purpose while we are here on Earth.  I look back at my life over the last years, and I can pinpoint exactly moments when I strayed from my path and tried to make a path of my own.  Decisions where I took the wrong fork in the road, when I ignored red-flags.  I was unfulfilled, something was missing.  I have always had a strong faith, but it was not as strong as it should have been at that time.  I also was with a partner who did not find it very important to stregthen and grow in his faith.  As I took the journey to grow my faith on my own, I became a stronger woman and began to stand for myself and what I needed.  This is when I went through some major life changes.  I still remember the moment in my car on the way home from work one November evening when I called out to God, and put my life in His hands.  I was ready to stop fighting, and living through such struggle, and was ready to give up the reins and let Him lead me.

I also met a man who became a very important part of my life (and still is!!), and he is a wonderful Godly man.  We talked about our faith, our spirituality, in a way that I have never talked with someone before.  It ignited this fire in me to continue to grow my relationship with God.  I began doing my own bible studies, we found a church that felt like home, it was a very riveting time.

Then life got busy, we moved, I started work full-time, J went back to school, and some of the study fell to the wayside.  But we are feeling the pull again to grow in God, both individually and together.  We started studying “Conversations with God” during our vacation back in August before the real whirlwind of life, but then life got busy again.  I have recently cracked the book and study guide back open (I’m visual and need to see it) while J has been listening to the audio book.  It feels so wonderful to be studying and growing again.  I don’t know how I was able to stay away so long.

J and I look forward to the year, and all that God has planned for us.  We are united, we are strong, we are faithful!

One thought on “Time to strengthen

  1. Pingback: Living with Intention | Change is my only constant

Leave a Reply

