Living with Intention

A goal that I have in 2014, and the rest of my life really, is to live with intention.  To not walk through life on auto-pilot.  There have been too many days that I just do what I’ve always done, expecting a different result.  I have decided life won’t be what I really want it to be if auto-pilot is the only mode I move in.

I am making the effort to spend more time, consciously, with family and friends.  I am going to the gym at least four times a week rather than ‘wishing I would have’.  I am working to learn more about growing my blog and finding my voice.  I am making a point to set time aside each day for some quiet time to pray, for my fiance, and for others who are very important to me.

One thing that I have done this week to work towards this goal was starting my Prayer Notebook, to intentionally pray.  I am working to stregthen and grow in my relationship with God, both alone, and with J.  I touched on this subject briefly here.  I have always felt the pull to pray more, but didn’t feel like I was able to self-guide well.  I had questions.

“Was I doing it right?”

“Where am I supposed to pray?”

“How long do you pray for?”

Then, as if God were answering, I began noticing the subject of prayer metioned on a few blogs that I frequently read.  Amanda over at The Lady Okie wrote about her plan to pray for her husband, family and friends every day, all year long.  From there, I found a list of Prayers for Your Husband that Elizabeth at Oak & Oats had posted.  J may not be my husband yet, but why shouldn’t I start now?  I dove a little further, and found Jamie at See Jamie Blog and her post about her Prayer Binder.

20140119-163501.jpg

There came the “Ah Hah” moment!  A Prayer Notebook, why hadn’t I thought of that?  A section for J, for family and friends, for my future children, for specific prayers.  And so the creation began.  I worked first on the section for J, and made my pages of the 31 Prayers from Elizabeth’s list as a guide.  I also made my list of family and friends to pray for each day with Amanda’s idea as a base.  These ladies, I’m telling you, if you haven’t checked out their blogs yet, you should.  They are very godly women, and aren’t afraid to talk about it.  They are an inspiration to me, someone who is working to talk about her faith more openly.  For I am a Christian woman, a child of God.

I also intend to be one of those who prays for others when a prayer request is put out into the universe.  I made sure to include a Prayer Request section in my Prayer Notebook just for that.  Whenever someone has asked for prayer, I would pray for them that moment, then forget for the following days.  In this section, I will keep a list of requests that come in so I can continue to pray for this person and whatever situation they may ask for prayer at that moment.  If any of you out there have a prayer request, I would love to add it into my Request section and pray for you as well.

4 thoughts on “Living with Intention

Leave a Reply

